can you pencil me in?

March 27, 2007 at 2:29 pm | Posted in Rants, Something | Leave a comment

Walking out of the Shopping Center last Sunday after jogging, a couple of friends and I passed by a hawking lady who was calling out “Doormat! Doormat!”

Funny me says to my friends: “Sino’ng doormat?!? Tapos na kong magig doormat! Matagal ko nang tinapos ang panahon na yun!”

But have I, really? Or am I still that man on the side who’s just waiting for him to bonk his head and realize it’s me, it’s me, you doofus. I’m right here.


********************
Man on the Side

John Mayer
six numbers, one more to dial
before I’m before you
I tried to call
been busy all night
gave up waiting at daylight

excuse me Mrs. Busybody
could you pencil me in when you can
though we both know that the worst part about it
is I would be free when you wanted me
if you wanted me

I am the man on the side
hoping you’ll make up your mind
I am the one who will swallow his pride
life as the man on the side

one of the many
one of the few
to stand back and wait for you

excuse me (Mr.) Busybody
could you pencil me in when you can
though we both know that the worst part about it
is I would be free when you wanted me
if you wanted me, if you wanted me

I am the man on the side
hoping you’ll make up your mind
I am the one who will swallow his pride
Life as the man on the side
Life as the man on the side

I fell in love with the dream that I built of you
playing the part of the queen
taking my own advice
I’m giving up tonight
good luck to you and the king

excuse me (Mr.) Busybody
could you pencil me in
though we both know that the worst part about it
is I would be free when you wanted me
if you wanted me, if you wanted me

I am the man on the side
hoping you’ll make up your mind
I am the one who will swallow his pride
life as the man
you know life as the man
living life as the man on the side

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

