possessions

February 16, 2006 at 3:46 pm | Posted in MaPalad, Rants, Something about Nothing | Leave a comment

so when i woke up this morning my palm had suddenly gone dead on me. last night i began having trouble turning it on, and my immediate suspect was the underclocker program i had put in to supposedly save up on batt life. as a multimedia handheld the zire is pretty awful when it comes to charging (read: sock it in everyday for 2 hours tops). but when i tinkered with the setting for the pxaclocker, my handheld went cuckoo.

Song of the Moment: Perfect Situation, Weezer
To Do (tasks, not people): unwind!
Current State: frayed nerves
~~~~~~~~~~


so when i woke up this morning my palm had suddenly gone dead on me. last night i began having trouble turning it on, and my immediate suspect was the underclocker program i had put in to supposedly save up on batt life. as a multimedia handheld the zire is pretty awful when it comes to charging (read: sock it in everyday for 2 hours tops). but when i tinkered with the setting for the pxaclocker, my handheld went cuckoo.

so the whole morning i was frantic. i was thinking there went my thousands and thousands of pesos into waste, and i was holding a very expensive piece of junk in my hand. i was close to breaking down when my handheld wouldn’t turn on despite my repeated attempts at a hard reset. i’m still in the honeymoon phase, you see, because the handheld has been with me for just a little over a week. so the possibility that it had broken down was just petrifying.

thankfully though, with a little help from my source and a hard reset, my handheld came back to life. the only trade off was that all the pics i took from last night’s fair are now kaput. everything else had been hotsynched yesterday before i left the office including a very important essay i am working on.

it just got me thinking as i was re-arranging my pics on my palm. i had become attached to my palm in so short a time. so maybe the pricetag was sufficient reason in itself. and yet i couldn’t imagine how ruinous it would be for my resources to have to go to all the trouble that comes with a possible repair. i would be devastated.

and yet, can gadgets breaking down really be as devastating as any tragedy that involves people? i guess i just want to keep my frayed nerves in check. i remember how depressed i got when i lost my old philips ozeo in an FX.

so lesson learned: always double-check 3rd party software before loading them up. hehe. but seriously, i guess acquisition is not an entirely bad habit. but there’s something telling about putting so much of ourselves in material things and losing sight of what life is like without them. from a time when i couldn’t imagine life without my phone, i now can’t imagine my life without my handheld. and yet, life goes on.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

