6 degrees of torture

August 7, 2005 at 9:58 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Even other people have given up on me. In the span of all the nine days that she has known me, J has brought up the names of four guys.

This would include that horrible pasta dinner date from more than a week ago (it’s that old, so I guess I should stop talking about it).

Then she mentioned ****, but I don’t think there are sparks there either.

Then she brings up another guy, to which I say, ‘Pinagbabayaran ko pa ginawa ko sa kaniya five years ago, so no.’

Then today she brings up the name of this other guy who is supposedly a close friend of hers. And I say ‘That guy hates me.’

And she finally replies, “Ang hirap mo i-setup bakla.”

I am about to concede the point. But seriously, I think it just goes back to what I said in the past about the ‘meet market’ being so small here that inevitably, someone will end up setting me up with someone I already know or am familiar with. I’m getting the strange feeling that every single gay guy in the country is related to me within six degrees.

Although that would seem to contradict my moody and crabby disposition towards life, I guess deep inside I’m still a people-pleasing person, which allows me to know a lot of people, especially from the old school. Unfortunately stranger still, I’m moving within circles close to all the WRONG guys.

Worse, that also means I’m moving within a very narrow market in which I am bound to meet more and more “spark”-less characters, whether the lack of those sparks comes from me, or them or both of us.

Sigh. I guess it’s true:

Set ups are fun ways to dispose of Friday nights. Relationships, on the other hand, are “accidents waiting to happen”.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

