Talk is Never Cheap

January 23, 2005 at 11:55 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

From LB, I was just on a roll. The following morning I rush back home before going back to the office, and I learn that my brother with the problem has a problem again, and it gets me worried for the rest of the day.

But when evening came, it was Len’s turn to have my full and devoted attention. Birthday girl is 25 and single, but she seems like she’s made peace with the fact, and I love her more for it. After some pasta, I give her a cig which she happily consumes, her lungs be damned, and we chat for a while before I send her off home so she could spend more time with her family.

The following day, brother’s problem didn’t turn out to be so bad, and he spends the morning talking with mom again, and it made me really happy to see them do so.

Not long after, I attend not one, but two children’s parties, and I relish the role of doting unrelated uncle shopping for baby gifts even if I had no clue what the fuck I’m supposed to get babies for gifts. The morning shift salesladies at the City were uncannily courteous, maybe because there were only about five of us customers at the baby section, and we were still fresh and smelled good.

At Kaela’s party I chow down the biggest meal I’ve had in about half a year, and I realize that my stomach had probably shrunk because I couldn’t stand straight after eating. Nevertheless I meet up with mom afterwards and we were off to eat some more at Dafney’s 2nd birthday party where I chatted up my once-estranged relatives from my childhood ghetto.

After the parties, I zip off to Conspiracy which I see for the first time, and the planned drop-by became a full-length chika session with Tune and the GZO staff, and my jaws have never been so exhausted after a while. Mainly because Hazel kept saying I’m cute, eventhough I tell her gently but firmly that women do not make my market. And we hit it off even more.

The past three days was all about talking, about disclosures and introductions and a gneral sense of pleasantness and emotional availability. In short I had never socialized as much as I did the past three days. And it feels good.

So good actually, that I begin to wonder where my anti-social self has gone, the Me that wants to shut out the world and throw a dirty finger at everyone I see. Has this persona retired? Is he just slumbering? I don’t know. Maybe he’s just venting in front of the computer, posting a blog article. Nevertheless, all I know is that Ellyn and Ge say they miss me, so I’m off to socialize some more next week.

Now if I could only meet more interesting gay guys along the way… but, you can’t have everything, no matter how trite that sounds. Maybe I should go grab that shirt off from People are People and drag myself to a spa treatment instead.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

